Skip navigation links
About Us
Fellows in Training
Allied Health Professionals
Patients & Public
ACAAI Foundation
Annual Meeting
Skip navigation links
About Us Home Page
The Specialty
American Medical Association Code of Ethics
Membership Categories | Membership in ACAAI
Become a Member
Become an International Affiliate Member
College History, Leadership & Awards
ACAAI Privacy Policy
ACAAI Terms of Use
Contact Us
Non-Members Online Store
Medical Student Resources
Clinical Trial Resource

Gold Headed Cane Award Recipients

Dr. Finegold elected to receive Gold Headed Cane Award

Past President Ira Finegold, MD, FACAAI, New York, N.Y., was elected by ACAAI Fellows to receive the 2011 Annual Gold Headed Cane Award.

This prestigious award honors an ACAAI Fellow who has demonstrated the highest standards of scientific excellence and integrity. Eligible candidates must be a Fellow of the College for at least 20 years. The ACAAI Board of Regents selects the recipient from among those receiving the most votes. The award will be presented at the Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony in Boston on Nov. 4.

Dr. Finegold is director of the  RA Cook Institute of Allergy; clinical professor of medicine at Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons; and chief, of the  Division of Allergy at St. Lukes- Roosevelt Hospital. He is in private practice in New York City and White Plains, N.Y.

He was ACAAI president, 1995-96. Dr. Finegold was selected as the honoree of the Ira Finegold Lecture for two years (2010 and 2011). He spearheaded the ACAAI immunotherapy campaign in the late 90s, “Get Tested, Get Treated, Get Better;” he founded and chaired the Immunotherapy Coalition between allergy and industry for 15 years; and he is the liaison for ACAAI to the CFC transition stakeholders for the past 16 years. He received the ACAAI Distinguished Fellow and Distinguished Service Awards. Dr. Finegold chairs the ACAAI Immunotherapy & Diagnostics Committee, the Publications Committee, the Europe & Russia Portfolio of the International Committee and is a member of the Finance and Budget Committee.  

He was president of the Florida Allergy Society, chairman of the Broward County Board of Censors, and member of the South Florida Ethics Committee. He was chief of staff of Hollywood Memorial Hospital, Hollywood Florida.

Dr. Finegold was elected to Phi Beta Kappa, Sigma Xi, and Alpha Omega Alpha. He was honored with the American Society of Clinical Pathologists’ Sheard-Sandford Award, and Jonas Salk, University of Chicago and New York State Scholarships. He is listed in Who’s Who, Top Doctors and Best Doctors. He has published many articles and chapters in textbooks on allergic subjects. He also teaches at Sophie Davis School of Medicine, CUNY, N.Y., and is an invited lecturer both nationally and internationally.

Past winners of the Gold Cane Award are: Harold S. Nelson, MD., FACAAI, Denver; Joseph A. Bellanti, MD, FACAAI, Washington, D.C.; Edward J. O’Connell, MD, FACAAI (Emeritus), Rochester, Minn.; Elliot F. Ellis, MD, FACAAI (Emeritus), St. Petersburg, Fla.; John C. Selner, MD, FACAAI (Deceased), Denver; Phillip L. Lieberman, MD, FACAAI, Germantown, Tenn; Betty B. Wray, MD, FACAAI, Augusta, Ga; Donald W. Aaronson, MD, JD, MPH, FACAAI, Chicago; Emil J. Bardana, Jr., MD, FACAAI, Portland, Ore; and Raymond G. Slavin, MD, MS, FACAAI (Emeritus), St. Louis, Mo.

The award serves as an inspiration to younger doctors and encourages them in family, social, civil, religious and professional life to cultivate character that earns the respect and good will of colleagues and the profession at large.

The tradition of the Gold Headed Cane started in 1689, with Dr. John Radcliffe, who had a particular interest in asthma as the personal physician to King William III, an asthmatic. Dr. Radcliffe began the tradition of passing the cane to a successor whom he considered to be the greatest physician of his time.



Copyright 2012 - American College of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology | 85 West Algonquin Road, Suite 550 | Arlington Heights, IL 60005

website designed and maintained by Washington Graphic Services